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REGULATORY BULLETIN 2015-01A  1 
                

 
To:  Insurance Rating Organizations Insurance Industry Representatives, Insurance Trade 

Associations, Property & Casualty Insurers, and Other Interested Parties 
 
From:   Germaine L. Marks 
  Director 
 
Date:   February 11, 2015 
 
Re:   Revision of Private Passenger Automobile Property Damage Threshold for 

Purposes of A.R.S. § 20-1631(E)  
 
On February 9, 2015, the Department of Insurance Issued Regulatory Bulletin 2015-01, and the 2015 
Private Passenger Automobile Property Damage Threshold was mistakenly not rounded to the nearest 
ten dollars.  Regulatory Bulletin 2015-01 is hereby withdrawn and superseded by this Bulletin, which sets 
forth the correct property damage threshold of $2,610. 
 
The Arizona Department of Insurance (“ADOI”) administers the laws controlling insurers’ ability to cancel 
or nonrenew personal automobile insurance policies in Arizona (see A.R.S. § 20-1631 et seq.).  A.R.S. 
§20-1631(D) sets forth the limitations on an insurer’s ability to cancel or nonrenew a personal automobile 
policy after it has been in effect for 60 days and A.R.S. §20-1631(E) lists additional conditions and 
limitations for cancellations and nonrenewals, including the provision that:  “An insurer shall not fail to 
renew more than one-half of one percent of its policies annually pursuant to this subsection.”   
 
For accidents occurring after January 1, 2000, A.R.S. §20-1631(E) requires ADOI to annually adjust and 
publish, to the nearest $10, the threshold amount of property damages insurers may use to nonrenew 
private passenger automobile policies under Subsection E.  ADOI must base the threshold adjustment 
upon the percentage change in the all-items component of the consumer price index for all urban 
consumers (CPI-U) of the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).   To 
date, the adjusted thresholds are as follows: 
 

Circular Letter Or Bulletin Number Date BLS' CPI-U Property Damage 
Threshold 

Regulatory Bulletin 2005-2 2/02/05 2.7% $2,080 

Regulatory Bulletin 2006-1 1/19/06 3.4% $2,150 

Regulatory Bulletin 2007-1 2/01/07 3.2% $2,220 

Regulatory Bulletin 2008-02 2/11/08 2.8% $2,280 

Regulatory Bulletin 2009-01 2/01/09 3.8% $2,370 

                                                           

1 This Substantive Policy Statement is advisory only. A Substantive Policy Statement does not include internal procedural 

documents that only affect the internal procedures of the Agency, and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on 

regulated parties or include confidential information or rules made in accordance with the Arizona Administrative Procedure 

Act. If you believe that this Substantive Policy Statement does impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties 

you may petition the agency under Arizona Revised Statutes Section 41-1033 for a review of the Statement. 
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Regulatory Bulletin 2010-01 2/12/10 -0.4% $2,360 

Regulatory Bulletin 2011-02  1/31/11 1.6% $2,400 

Regulatory Bulletin 2012-01  1/31/12 3.2% $2,480 

Regulatory Bulletin 2013-01  1/23/13 2.1% $2,530 

Regulatory Bulletin 2014-01  2/05/14 1.5% $2,570 

 
 

The BLS’ most current United States’ City Average CPI-U is 1.6%.  Therefore, as of the date of this 
Regulatory Bulletin, the ADOI hereby increases the property damage threshold level to $2,610 
($2,570 X 1.016 rounded to the nearest $10).  Insurers may not use Subsection E as a basis to nonrenew 
personal automobile policies unless they meet all of the A.R.S. §20-1631(E) requirements and the 
property damage exceeded $2,610 in 2015.   
 
The $2,610 threshold is effective immediately and remains in effect until the ADOI publishes an adjusted 
threshold in 2016.   
 
Please direct any questions related to this Regulatory Bulletin to Rosemary Cutter at (602) 364-3453 or 
rcutter@azinsurance.gov. 
 

 

 


