
ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
RATE AND RULE FILINGS

PERSONAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
The Property and Casualty Section within the Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial
Institutions (the Department) has developed the following checklist to help you submit a
complete and correct rate and rule filing.

NOTE: This checklist is not intended to serve as an all-inclusive list of requirements.
Insurance policies must meet all requirements of Arizona law, regardless of whether
the law is summarized in this checklist.

This checklist applies to the following types of insurance (TOI’s) and sub-types:

19.0: Personal Auto
● 19.0001 - Private Passenger Auto;
● 19.0002 - Motorcycle;
● 19.0003 - Recreational Vehicle;
● 19.0004 - Other.

This checklist is in addition to the General Filing Checklist

FILING REQUIREMENTS

NOTE – Use and file. All rate filings must be made within 30 days after the effective date of
the rate. Arizona law provides that if the rate or rule does not comply, the Department may
issue an order at any time specifying in what respect the filing is in conflict and stating that,
within 30 days after the order is issued, the rate is no longer effective. The order will not affect
any contract made or issued prior to the effective date of the order. The insurer or rate service
organization making the filing may request a hearing pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes,
Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 10. Please ensure that all of the applicable issues below are
addressed in your rate filing. ARS § 20-385.

Topic References* Requirements
* “§” = Arizona Revised Statutes Section

At Fault Accidents § 20-263 (A) Insurers may not implement rating rules that allow for the
increase of premiums or tier placement based on accidents
or claims that are not caused or significantly contributed to by
the actions of the insured. This includes the use of vehicle
history scoring.

Automobile Theft
Authority Fee

§ 41-3451(J) The Arizona Automobile Theft Authority (AATA) per vehicle
semiannual fee is $0.50 or a maximum of $1.00 per year.

Minimum Limits of
Coverage

§ 20-266 Insurers must make the mandatory minimum liability limits
available on all personal auto policies.  These limits are
defined under ARS §28-4009 as bodily injury limits of
$25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and property
damage liability limits of $15,000 per accident or a combined
policy limit (CSL of $65,000..

http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00385.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00263.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/41/03451.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00266.htm


Monthly Payment
Plans

§20-267 Insurers must offer a monthly payment plan, and may charge
an installment fee.  Insurers may not charge more than "an
amount equal to one and one-half times the monthly premium
in addition to the first month's premium."

Motor Vehicle ID
Cards

§ 28-4133 Insurers must issue at least two motor vehicle insurance
identification cards for a motor vehicle or automobile liability
policy that include the Insurers name and the MVD ID
Number assigned to the insurer.

Rating Seat Belt
Usage

§28-909 (E) Insurers may not implement rating or underwriting rules that
surcharge an applicant, or cancel or non-renew an existing
insured, based on vehicle restraint (lap and shoulder belt)
violation.

Rating Speed
Violations

§28-702.01 Insurers may not implement rating or underwriting rules that
surcharge an applicant, or cancel or non-renew an existing
insured, based on a moving violation for driving sixty-five
miles per hour or less if the maximum speed limit was
fifty-five miles per hour.

Safety Equipment § 20-264 When offering comprehensive coverage, insurers must also
offer a separate rate for safety equipment coverage including
glass in windows and doors and plastic material used in the
lights for a vehicle, without a deductible.

Credit Score Models § 20-2110 The Department requires that provision statements pertaining
to § 20-2110(F)1-6 are included in the company UW manual
or credit scoring model filed.

Discounts/Surcharges § 20-375 The Department requires actuarial support for discounts. This
support may be in the form of relativity tables displaying
comparisons of profits and losses between policyholders
receiving the discount and those that are not. While data
specific to Arizona is preferred, national data to support a
discount is acceptable.

Confidential
Documentation

§ 44-401

§ 20-386

Supporting documents provided in a filing, may be
recognized as Trade Secret. However, the insurer or filer
shall have the burden of asserting to the director that the
information is a trade secret.

GLM Models § 20-381 All supplementary rate information may be requested by the
Department in order to further support the rate filing made.
This information may be acknowledged as Trade Secret upon
request. Please see the GLM Checklist provided by the
Department.

Fees § 20-385 Any fees charged by the insured must be included in a filing
and actuarially supported via an expense breakdown.

Privacy Notices § 20-2104 Privacy notices must be issued to insureds in accordance
with statute. Please review the following: § 20-2104 and §
20-2101

Adverse Action
Notices

§ 20-2110 Adverse underwriting decisions must be provided to the
insured in accordance with § 20-2110(A-E).

subTOIs Any Rate or Rate/Rule filing shall use the applicable subTOI
when filing rate changes. Do not use “TOI XX Sub-OI
Combinations” for filing types Rate or Rate/Rule for
Homeowners, Personal Auto, Med Mal, Other Liabilities, Crop
Hail, Commercial Auto, Commercial Multi-Perl, Inland Marine
or Mortgage Guarantee filings when the rate change(s) apply
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http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00267.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/04133.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/00909.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/00702-01.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00264.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/02110.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/02110.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00375.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/44/00401.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00386.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00381.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00385.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/search/oop/qfullhit.asp?CiWebHitsFile=/ars/20/02104.htm&CiRestriction=privacy%20notice
https://www.azleg.gov/search/oop/qfullhit.asp?CiWebHitsFile=/ars/20/02104.htm&CiRestriction=privacy%20notice
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/02110.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/02110.htm


to specific subTOI(s).  This ensures that any rate change is
assigned to the applicable subTOI.

CERTIFICATION OF COMPANY OFFICER

NOTE: Filer certification must be completed and signed by an officer of the company.

I, , certify on behalf of the company that is
submitting this filing that I am responsible for the validity, accuracy and completeness of the
enclosures in this filing.  To the best of my knowledge and belief each form or rate filing
included in this filing: 1) conforms to all of the applicable requirements outlined above; 2)
contains no provision(s) previously disapproved or required to be corrected and/or revised by
the Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions; 3) does not exceed this
company’s powers, the authority granted by its state of domicile or its Arizona certificate of
authority; and 4) complies with all applicable provisions of state or federal law and orders of
the Director of Insurance.

Title:

Email:

Phone:

Date:

Company Officer Signature: _________________________________________

Important Note: Pursuant to ARS § 28-4148, each insurer who cancels or becomes
aware of the cancellation or nonrenewal of or failure to renew or issuance of a motor
vehicle liability insurance policy issued on a vehicle in this state shall provide to the
Department of Transportation all cancellations, non-renewals or new issues for any
reason after seven or fewer days have elapsed from the time of processing the
cancellation, non renewal or new issue of a policy.

The insurer shall provide the information by electronic data interchange in a format
schedule specified by and in a manner prescribed by the Director of the Department of
Transportation.  ARS § 20-237 provides that if an insurer has failed to comply with the
provisions of ARS § 28-4148, the Director of Insurance shall impose a civil penalty for
each violation of not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) per day for each day the
insurer is in violation of ARS § 28-4148. The Director of Insurance also may suspend the
insurer's certificate of authority until the insurer complies with the provisions of section
ARS § 28-4148.  For further information on reporting the required information, please
contact the Arizona Department of Transportation.
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