What is this $1.00 charge on my insurance statement?
The Arizona Automobile Theft Authority receives its funding each insured vehicle registered in Arizona. The fee is actually $.50 every 6 months per Arizona Revised Statute §41-3451. How this fee is assessed to you is up to your insurance company. All insurance companies are required by Arizona Revised Statue §41-3453 to comply with this assessment but how and when they assess this fee is at their discretion.
Does the Arizona Automobile Theft Authority use General Fund monies?
No. Our sole funding source is that $1.00 assessment collected from each Arizona registered insured vehicle.
Is the Arizona Automobile Theft Authority a law enforcement agency?
No, however we are a law enforcement supporter! 95% of the AATA's budget is distributed to Law Enforcement and Prosecuting agencies around Arizona in the form of grants. The Arizona Department of Public Safety's Vehicle Theft Task Force, a task force comprised of local, county, state and federal law enforcement detectives throughout Arizona, is one of our largest grantees.
What does the Arizona Automobile Theft Authority do?
While we are not a law enforcement agency, we are a crime prevention agency! We bring law enforcement, county prosecutors, insurance companies, and our communities together to collaborate on how we can best serve the public in deter auto theft!
Is Auto Theft that big of a problem?
We believe it is. Auto theft is not just a property crime but rather a crime associated with many other crimes like drug running, human smuggling, burglaries, gang activity, and even terrorism. Auto theft is a serious crime with serious consequence with effects that reach far beyond that of just a stolen vehicle.